Wild Blueberry-Ginger Oatmeal Bars

I was worried these bars would be bland or bitter – they’re anything but! The tart blueberry is perfectly balanced here. The oats provide a texture heartier than pancakes, leaving you feeling satisfied. Plus they are incredibly easy and fast to make, with practically zero clean-up. The only problem I have with them, is that it’s hard to eat just one.

I decided to make these bars with the intention of wrapping them individually and taking them with me in the morning on my way out the door. I love the idea of having oatmeal on the go without fussing with a spoon and bowl. Sometimes it’s too hot and you have to wait for it to cool before you can even eat it. And with granola bars being at least a dollar a piece now a days, these bars are a bargain. I opted for pure maple syrup, and bought both the oats and the blueberries in bulk. My local grocery did not have fresh blueberries in January, so instead I chose to use frozen berries. Besides paying $10.99 for a pound of frozen berries was a better deal than fresh at 2 pints/$5. I did have to purchase the ginger, and substituted plain old white sugar in for the coconut sugar the recipe originally called for.

I adapted this recipe from the Purely Elizabeth cookbook, Eating Purely. I used old-fashioned oats instead of the ancient grain oatmeal recommended. I love all of the ingredients separately, so I was very confident I would love these bars. I couldn’t stop eating the blueberries prior to mixing them in! The uncooked batter was also sinfully delicious – sorry not sorry if I ever get salmonella poisoning from consuming raw eggs.

I hope you love this recipe as much as I do. It’s packed full of fiber, antioxidants, and a little bit of good fats. I would recommend wrapping them individually and popping them in the freezer; making it easy to put a one in lunchboxes or with enjoy during your commute with a mug of coffee.


Wild Blueberry-Ginger Oatmeal Bars


bluebaarTotal time: 35 minutes

Prep: 10 minutes

Bake: 25 minutes

Yield: one dozen

Level: Easy

 

INGREDIENTS

1 1/2 c. unsweetened almond milk

1 egg

1/2 tsp. vanilla

1/2 c. sugar

1/4 c. pure maple syrup

3 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats or ancient grain oatmeal

1/2 tsp. ginger

2 c. blueberries, fresh or frozen

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a large bowl, whisk together milk, egg, vanilla, sugar, and maple syrup. Add in oats, ginger, and blueberries. If you are using frozen berries, set them to thaw in the microwave first, then place them in a cheese cloth and gently squeezed out the excess moisture. Stir everything together with a wooden spoon. Pour into a greased 8 x 8 pan and bake for 25 minutes.

Calories: 158 per bar

Fat: 2.4 g

Carbs: 32.6 g

Protein: 3.7 g

Follow me on Instagram @victoriaeats for the latest updates. 

Leave a Reply

