Chickpea Veggie Curry

A few days ago, I experimented with a recipe from Kroger’s Chef John. I receive their publication, MyMagazine, in the mail. It is always full of great ideas, like Chickpea Veggie Curry.

I prepared this curry, separated it into two portions, and froze both for later. I froze it in Pyrex and Tupperware bowls, because I was not about to try and put soup into a gallon-sized Ziploc without any help; half of it would have ended up on the floor. I will say, this recipe makes a lot of food. Following the directions as is, for me it made around 6 quarts. I have yet to eat it, but I did a lil raw taste test, and it was great! The spices were perfectly balanced. I cannot wait to throw it in the slow cooker come Monday.


Admittedly I have never cooked with curry, coconut milk, or turmeric. I was ecstatic to be using new ingredients. The spices were a bit expensive, but now I’ll have them on hand to cook a variety of international dishes. And I can use the containers again and head straight for the bulk section. The coconut milk was difficult to track down in the grocery. It was not in the international section, Asian section, nor was it with the regular milk. It was by itself with a variety of other vegan products, near the granola. Traditionally, almond milk (for example) will be in both the dairy isle and near the cereal. That is where I found the coconut milk. Unrefrigerated, next to the granola.

Enjoy the meat-free meal next time a big storm hits, you have zero time to make dinner or you are just really craving Indian food. I know you won’t be disappointed. Tell me what you think down below in the comments, or on my Instagram page.


Chickpea Veggie Curry


Total Time: 4 hours 20 minutes

Prep: 20 minutes

Cook: 4 hours

Yield: 4-6 servings

Level: Easy

INGREDIENTS

1 can (14 oz.) chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 head cauliflower, cut into florets
½ lb. green beans, trimmed
1 sweet potato, washed and diced
1 red onion, sliced
1 tomato, diced
½ c. shredded carrot
3 c. low-sodium vegetable broth
1 c. light coconut milk
1 tsp. curry powder
1 tsp. turmeric
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. pepper
Chopped, fresh cilantro, for garnish

DIRECTIONS

Combine all ingredients (excluding cilantro) in a large plastic storage bag. Seal tightly, pressing out any air. Refrigerate for up to 2 days or freeze.

Move bag from freezer to refrigerator the day before you plan to cook. When ready to use, dump thawed contents into a slow cooker and cover. Cook on low heat for 4 hours. Serve, garnishing with cilantro.

Calories: 390 per serving

Fat: 14 g

Carb: 57 g 

Protein: 13 g 

Leave a Reply

