Power Morning Smoothie

After eating an enormously unhealthy amount of cake while baking yesterday, I am in need of a much needed detox. This morning I am kicking things off with kale. Who doesn’t love this leafy green.

I have A LOT to do today, including recipe planning, food shopping, cooking, and a PHOTOSHOOT for my with my cousin. I’m so stoked to have her on board for this next project. You guys do not want to miss that.

This smoothie recipe (again from Eating Purely by Elizabeth Stein) is also part of a challenge I came across this morning from ANGIE at Fiesta Friday.

I changed it up a bit by using more water and less ice – making it easier to drink (no brain freeze!). And I forwent the mint because I didn’t have any. Also added new garnishes. I would love to try this with coconut water or coconut milk. Write in the comments how you made it special.

It is called Fiesta Friday Healthy Recipe Challenge.

fiestafriday-healthy-recipe-challenge

You can join the challenge by going to herย website. The contest rules and conditions are posted there.

Lets get started!


Power Morning Smoothie


File_008.jpeg

Total time: 5 minutes

Prep: 4 minutes

Cook: 1 minute

Yield: 16 oz

Level: Easy

INGREDIENTS

2 c. kale

1/2 c. pineapple, chopped

1 tbsp. fresh ginger, minced

1 apple, cored and chopped

1ย c. water

1/2 c. ice

honey

coconut flakes

bran

DIRECTIONS

Add all the ingredients to a blender, water and ice first. Pulse to crush ice and liquefy until smooth. Line a mason jar rim with honey and dip in shaved coconut flakes. For an extra treat, lightly toast the flakes first. Top with a sprinkle of bran and extra pineapple chunks.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Sounds so refreshing and delicious! I’m assuming you’re entering this to the Fiesta Friday Healthy Recipe Challenge? I’ll be adding this to the link-up. If you want to enter more recipes (you’re allowed to enter as many recipes as you like), please scroll all the way down, and under the thumbnail photos you’ll see a small blue button that says “Add your link” . Click on that and it should be self-explanatory from there. Thanks for participating! ๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Yes! Thanks for the tip. I’ll keep it in mind for next time. Have fun sorting through the entries. It’s a great idea! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m glad you like the challenge! ๐Ÿ˜„

        Like

  2. chefjulianna says:

    Lovely! Now I am really craving your smoothie. I just happen to have all of the ingredients here right now, funny huh? Great job! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

    1. How perfect! Hope you enjoy it! There is a Blueberry Banana Granola smoothie bowl on my Instagram victorianeats … if you like the Kale smoothie, you might like that one too ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. Jhuls says:

    Victoria (right?), this one looks good to me. I love smoothies. Thanks for sharing this at FF Healthy Recipe Challenge. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Btw, it’s nice to meet you.

    x Jhuls

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

