Lazy Girl Kale “Pesto”

Kale is a vegetable that took the internet by storm last year, and I am still in love with it. It has a heartier texture, compared to spinach, and doesn’t wilt in my refrigerator as fast. However, I still found myself with a little too much of the stuff after a “buy one get one” sale at the grocery. I used some of the kale to make Fresh Tri-Color Pasta, but I still had a lot leftover. The recipe called for only two tablespoons of pureed kale. My blender works better with a larger volume of ingredients to process, so I blanched and pureed about 5 cups of the leafy green. I froze that majority of it in an ice cube tray and have been using it for all kinds of things! Smoothies and sauces primarily.

For these wonderfully green lentils:  I simply bring 1/3 c. lentils and 1 c. water to a boil. Gently boil for 5 minutes. Remove from heat and let rest 4-5 minutes. Drain the lentils and return them to the saucepan. Add two cubes of frozen kale, a 1/2 TBSP butter (or vegan butter) and salt & pepper, garlic powder. You could also sauté fresh garlic first, then add the other ingredients. But this is the lazy girl pesto 🙂 It was good enough for me.

File_003(8).jpeg
Lazy Girl Kale “Pesto”

Leave me a comment with ideas of how to use kale cubes or link me to pictures of your next creation. Happy Eats

Leave a Reply

