NYC Carrot Soup

 

I got home from a friend’s birthday party tonight around 10 pm, and boy was I craving vegetables. I managed to eat two very small brownies and a handful of chips at this party, but I couldn’t stomach a giant cheesy slice of pizza. I’m all about cheat days (believe me) but I knew that pizza would send me into caloric overload and heartburn city. Anyway, so I get home and what’s in the vegetable drawer? Broccoli – which I went for straight-up, raw. I didn’t even wash it because I am a savage. Pesticides from unwashed produce will probably be my ultimate cause of death.

file_002-4

But something else was about to happen. A different vegetable was about to take center stage – and with that, the carrots came out of the freezer. The top-notch recipe I found, guaranteed to bring these freezer burnt babies back to glory, was the New York Times Cooking Pureed Carrot Soup Recipe. I would only trust someone as cunning and creative as a New Yorker to fix-up this sad vegetable. This soup was stunning. It is creamy, smooth, and has an incredible depth of flavour. NYT Cooking attributes this to the French. The French-style rice used in the recipe is key to creating the signature texture. I say big props to Martha Rose Shulman for throwing this recipe together.

file_005-6

This soup was easy, especially since I used pre-cut, frozen vegetables. This shrank both the cooking time and the prep time. I recommend using fresh carrots, but I will tell you the frozen ones I used were still sweet and colorful. I cut down on the salt, measuring in pinches. And I also used a 1 to 3 ratio of broth to water. Accidently skipped the sugar so I am omitting it here. Heavy handed on the black pepper as always. Added fresh ginger and a little whole milk at the end. I also cut the original recipe in half (because I am moving tomorrow and didn’t want six servings of soup!) Come Monday I’ll have roommates for the first time in almost two years, so they better prepare themselves for lots of dishes cooked by me


NYC Carrot Soup


file_007-4Total Time: 1 hour

Yield: 2 generous servings

Level: Easy

INGREDIENTS

1/2 TBSP unsalted butter

1/2 TBSP extra virgin olive oil

1/2 large onion, chopped

1 l bs. sweet carrots, peeled and thinly sliced

Salt to taste

1  c. vegetable stock + 3 c. water

3 TBSP Arborio rice, uncooked

Freshly ground pepper to taste

grated fresh ginger to taste

chopped fresh herbs, such as chervil, mint, chives, or parsley, for garnish

DIRECTIONS

In a large, heavy stock pot over medium-low, heat the butter and oil. Add the onion. Cook, stirring frequently, until tender (about 5 minutes). Add the carrots and a pinch of salt, and cook for another 10 minutes, or until the vegetables are tender. Add the rice, water/stock, and salt (about 1 1/2 teaspoons). Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low, cover and simmer 30 minutes, or until the carrots are tender and the soup is fragrant.

When time has elapsed, remove from heat. Blend the soup with an immersion blender, starting on a low setting, working in a stirring motion. It may help to tilt the pot.

Stir and taste. Adjust salt, add a little fresh ginger. Add a generous amount of freshly ground pepper. If the sweetness of the carrots needs a boost, add a pinch of sugar. Serve, garnishing each bowl with croutons and a sprinkle of herbs.

Calories: 238 per serving

Fat: 7.1 grams

Carbs: 36.6 grams

Protein: 6 grams

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

