Crazy Coconut Granola

file_006-8file_00413

This granola is so simple and delicious! It’s something you can play around with and adjust the ingredients if you like a certain seed or nut better than another. I found the original recipe from Bon Appetit Executive Cher Mary Nolan. She made a recipe for Blueberry-Maple Granola. However, I swapped the blueberries for diced dried prunes. Prunes are great for your digestive health and are also low in sugar. In addition, I removed the canola oil from the recipe and added 1 1/2 TBSP of coconut oil. I have heard that coconut oil helps your body burn fat? I don’t know if that is true, but I like the taste. Since coconut flakes were are a key ingredient, I was confident in the substitution taste wise. The texture of the granola was just what I wanted. It was crunchy, yet soft without being necessarily chewy. I also added flax seeds. I bought those on a whim and decided the would amp up the crunch factor and the protein.

Next time, I am going to double this recipe. I couldn’t sneaking handfuls of it! I really enjoyed making it too. It was very simple to measure out the ingredients and cook up a simple syrup of sorts. I would recommend making this with kids – they would have a lot of fun I think! Happy eats xoxo

file_000-8


Crazy Coconut Granola


file_00511Total Time: 40 minutes

Prep: 10

Cook: 30

Yield: 6 cups

Level: Easy

INGREDIENTS

3 c. old fashioned oats

1 c. walnut halves

1 c. unsweetened coconut flakes

1/2 cup raw pepitas (shelled pumpkin seeds)

1/3 maple syrup 100% pure

1/3 brown sugar

1 1/2 TBSP coconut oil

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1/4 c. raw flax seed

1/2 dried diced prunes

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. In a large bowl, mix oats, coconut, and pepitas. In a small saucepan over low heat, mix syrup, sugar, oil and salt. Bring mixture to a simmer, stirring consistently. Remove from heat and pour over oat mixture. Stir to evenly coat. Sprinkle in flax seed and stir again. Spread evenly on a rimmed sheet pan lined with foil. Bake, stirring every 10 minutes, until golden brown, about 30 minutes. Add prunes and stir. Allow to cool – it will be very hot. Serve with milk, kefir, or yogurt.

 

 

Leave a Reply

